Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: No Fishing Zone  (Read 5885 times)

finishingwithian

No Fishing Zone
« on: October 04, 2013, 10:43:07 PM »

I am very new to salmon fishing. Have been fishing at Ambleside park recently and talked to a First Nation fellow. He told me that basically there is a "No Fishing Zone" between the first two bridges at the mouth of the Capilano River. Only First Nation people can fish there and I was very surprised since that I was not aware of that at all.

Luckily I did not fish in that Zone but thought that it might be a great idea to share with other anglers who might be new to fishing. I am sure that all your experienced fishermen know about some zones already but to us its like "Wow I did not know this" sort of thing.

Basically, these little areas/zones are very easy to be missed when read thru the reg's or they are very hard to find online (correct me if I am wrong). So, if you know any other 'No Fishing Zone's that may alert other anglers especially for newbie's like myself, I think that it will be so kind of you to share with us.

finishingwithian

Re: No Fishing Zone
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2013, 10:50:29 PM »

Here is another spot sort of raised the flag before i go there fishing.

Vancouver Southland Musqueam Ave along Fraser North Arm. Did anyone fished there? Is fishing allowed there?

Every Day

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2013, 11:03:22 PM »

Yep had one of these on Gold River too....
Was fishing an area catch and release that was open in the regs.