Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: White Springs/Red Springs  (Read 14042 times)

Eva

• i hate normfish
White Springs/Red Springs
« on: August 13, 2004, 04:55:30 PM »

Hello.
 I am new to fishing the Fraser river and was wondering how one can tell the difference between Red and White Springs while they are still alive. Are there special markings?

So the Capilano River coho have a "c" on their noe as opposed to the Seymour River coho's having an "s"? i caught a htchery coho the other day that had nothing on it's nose, so i was curious.

Thank you very much./

Fishin Freak

• Old Timer
  • Get The Feeling, Toyota!
Re:White Springs/Red Springs
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2004, 04:59:26 PM »

There's been discussions on this before, i'd advise you do a search.

DragonSpeed

• Old Timer
  • Less Computer Time - More fishing Time...yes YOU!
    • My Pictures
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2004, 05:05:58 PM »

Eva....It's sometimes hard for people to give good advice because their tongue is so firmly planted in their cheek ;)

Eva

• i hate normfish
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2004, 05:31:39 PM »

For those that commented, thank you for the tips and advice. Is there any other way to spot that from any coloring or shape of the fish?

thank you again.

Eva

• i hate normfish
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2004, 05:34:14 PM »

I did do a search, but the results just brought me back to this thread. if there was previous information on this subject posted please add a link.

thank you.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2004, 12:01:23 AM »

Yupper and the Vedder Springs have a VS on there nose for Vedder Spring if you get a VC that is Vedder Coho.  You have too look really hard to see it but it is there.

To tell the difference with a white spring to a red spring, again look at the nose, as it would be a VWS or VRS Vedder white spring or vedder red spring.