Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Haters on the River  (Read 21805 times)

Ssypark

• addicted
Haters on the River
« on: March 30, 2012, 12:33:19 AM »

Hey all,

I'd like to first introduce myself. I am a Korean-Canadian angler and I have been fishing in the Lower Mainland ever since I was 5 years old. The last two times I've been at the Vedder River, I've experienced hatred/racism by other caucasian anglers (why is it always center-pinners?). I've been called a "f***in ch*nk" once and was told to "do my f***in homework" at another incident when I asked a simple question about regulations to an angler nearby. I understand a lot of you have seen or experienced asian anglers at the river that have ZERO respect for the water as well as the regulations. But I would appreciate it if some of you would not have such ignorant minds and make such quick judgements. It doesn't hurt to be helpful or be critical in a positive way. I am posting this to bring awareness to this cause. I feel that many other anglers (not only asian) would appreciate your advice, and your respect as we all are out there to enjoy the same sport.

Thanks for your time.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: Haters on the River
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 12:50:40 AM »

It's plain ignorance plain and simple. Lack of respect for our natural resources is not restricted to one ethnic group. I've seen Caucasians, Asians, Aboriginals, eastern Europeans etc not abiding by the regulations. Heck I've even experienced fishermen yanking their lines when they think nobody is looking.

Animal Chin

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 01:36:04 AM »