Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: need help on baitcaster  (Read 4333 times)

Sinaran

need help on baitcaster
« on: October 19, 2005, 10:24:41 PM »

So i just bought the ambassadeur 6000c last week to fight the nasty chums, i have a problem though. since i've never used one before, i don't really know how to cast with the reel.  the first time i tried to cast it i screw up the line, the lure was in the water, few feets away from me and the spool was still rolling.  any help on this would be greatly appreciated!! thanks!
Fish on!!! woohoo..!!

cohokid

• Old Timer
  • 28 landed- 11 lost
Re: need help on baitcaster
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2005, 10:29:50 PM »

youll need to tighten ur spool tensioner on the side were the reel handle are. its the beggest silver knob. if it right hand retreeve then it will be on the right side. left hand retreve then it will be on the left side. under the part were u tighter u drag. i have the same reel for the fraser and im looking at it right now. lol. make sure u dont tighten the knob too tight or you lure/wieght wont go anywere. you should be able to let ur thumb of the spool and ur lure/wieght should drop to the ground with out the spool spinning alot and getting backlash.

hope this helps any more questons pm me.

BwiBwi

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 12:18:33 AM »

Also if you're used to using spinners for lure casting, you might want to release line sooner when using baitcaster.

~IvAn~

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2005, 08:33:10 AM »

Thumb control!..always have your thumb on the spool

kellya

• Old Timer
  • I'm a llama!
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2005, 08:50:31 AM »