Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I did it!  (Read 16500 times)

DragonSpeed

• Old Timer
  • Less Computer Time - More fishing Time...yes YOU!
    • My Pictures
I did it!
« on: February 27, 2005, 01:22:22 PM »

I went out today, and cast my new fly rod for about 1.5 hours.  Obviously, I haven't quite got the technique perfected, but it was cool to see that I could actually cast with moderate accuracy to distances from 20-35 ft.

Obviously the wind knots have got to go, but I can manage a decent cast now.  I have a feeling that I won't TOTALLY embarass myself around my friend and his buddies.  Now the challenge is to get the technique CORRECT, rather than just functional.

The Happy Fly Caster :D

Spudcote

• Old Timer
  • Let the big ones go
Re: I did it!
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2005, 02:28:58 PM »

Well done, did you have any instruction at all ? I was self taught and managed to embarass myself at the fly-show, so it may be worth getting someone else to watch you if you went to. Otherwise, I found that the casting was hardest part of learning to fly fish, considering it's what you spend a fair amout of the day doing.

Wind knots happen to all levels of fly fishermen, some more than others. So don't really worry about that much, the more you fish, the less you should encounter.
Early to bed,
Early to rise,
Fish all day,
Make up lies.

See you all of the water,
Spudcote

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2005, 02:36:22 PM »

Ha, 35 feet, I am better than that! Let's see you beat my 36 feet. ;D Well done... Did you do this in public....? ;)

Spud, don't worry about embarrassing yourself at the casting pools of the flyshow... lol.... It happens to many... ;)

A lesson is definitely recommended, to get those bad habits identified so you don't keep doing it forever.