Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fraser River questions...  (Read 12310 times)

halcyonguitars

• Old Timer
Fraser River questions...
« on: October 12, 2015, 11:35:52 AM »

Hi,

My GF has taken an interest in fishing. However, she is reluctant to layout the moolah for waders as of yet. Can anyone recommend a place to fish on the Fraser that will work well for basically a total noob with only gumboots? Hopefully, we're after coho...

I've read about all the spots in Rodney's articles, but I'm not sure about the actual geography, or what spot might be more suitable that others for someone with no waders. She'll be spin casting, but I'd like to try flyfishing as well as spin casting and drifting.

Also, is there a baitban presently? I found the regs a little confusing with all the different breakdowns of the locations.

Any tips would be appreciated.

RalphH

• Old Timer
    • Initating Salmon Fry
Re: Fraser River questions...
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2015, 12:00:24 PM »

where are you interested in fishing? For coho stay downstream of the Harrison. Lots of good spots from Mission on down to Richmond. My favourites are Duncan Bar (most upstrea bar in Glen Valley Park and the south shore bar below the Mission Bridge The bait ban is now off in this section but you need a tidal water (federal) license. Some streams offer bank fishing and don't require waders but people like me don't identify them on line.
"Two things are infinite, the Universe and human stupidity... though I am not completely sure about the Universe" ...Einstein as related to F.S. Perls.

halcyonguitars

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2015, 12:28:19 PM »

Thanks!