Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Hiking to quiet spots on the Vedder?  (Read 14102 times)

markyboy

Hiking to quiet spots on the Vedder?
« on: October 01, 2015, 07:59:20 PM »

I'm new to the Vedder this year and have read a lot in posts saying that there is lots of good, quiet spots on the Vedder if you are willing to explore. I've tried hard to spend as much time exploring the last couple of weeks as I have fishing and seem to have missed most of the spots.

I'm wondering if the 'fishable' water is less because the water level is fairly low? For example some of the spots I found that were quite nice runs a week and a half ago are now really quite shallow and rocky. Earlier this week I hiked the river from below Thomson park all the way up to Osborne road (with all the crowds fishing the deep pool) and found water that in my opinion seemed to be too rocky, too fast to consistently fish. Yes there was some small pocket water around rocks but even if I landed my float in the exact spot, it would only be there for a couple of seconds before disappearing way down the river due to the torrent of water. I hiked into another spot way upriver but after about 20 minutes, found that there were only two spots and each already had two fisherman there.

So my assumption is that once it rains some more, there will be more fish spread out throughout the whole system and more fishable water for us all. Is this correct and I just need to join the crowds until the rain comes, or do I just need to hike more, or should I shorten up my float to a foot and fish the shallow water that no one else fishes?

Fish or cut bait.

• Old Timer
Re: Hiking to quiet spots on the Vedder?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2015, 08:23:10 PM »

A couple weeks of exploring is a start.
I've only done it for a few decades and hopefully for a few more.