Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Beginner fisherman looking for a good place to hook up  (Read 6277 times)

am3ience

Beginner fisherman looking for a good place to hook up
« on: September 29, 2015, 10:05:42 PM »

Hey guys, so i'm pretty new to all this and I have gone a few times already past the month, first time at Ambleside, got a few nibbles but no hooks. Second time I tried furry creek beach, not much luck there either, later that day head to the Squamish river, few hooks (or could have been the current deceiving me) but couldn't land any, my friend did manage to get one trout tho. Third time I went to Matsqui park, under the Mission Bridge, didn't manage even a single bite.

At this point i'm pretty discouraged, haven't had much success. I was hoping you guys had any good places for a beginner, somewhere fish bite often. I recently got laid off so I got a lot of time on my hands now lol. Nothing too far tho, i'm thinking under a 45 minute drive out of Surrey.

Any advice would be awesome!

halcyonguitars

• Old Timer
Re: Beginner fisherman looking for a good place to hook up
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2015, 10:17:56 PM »

I was gonna say, try Tinder, but...;)

Capilano River and Chilliwack River. Be advised I have no wheels so don't know what driving time is involved. There's places to fish in New West, Richmond, pretty much any place with access to the Fraser.

I don't know for sure but my hunch is that places like Ambleside and Furry Creek will be pretty much done as the fish holding out there to waiting to get up the rivers will more or less be in the systems by now. But this is my first season at it, so caveat emptor...

halcyonguitars

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2015, 10:23:30 PM »