Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fishing for Bull and Rainbow trout in winter  (Read 5448 times)

hillmonkey

Fishing for Bull and Rainbow trout in winter
« on: January 04, 2016, 07:28:41 PM »

I am fairly new to river fishing and completely new to fishing during the winter months, where would be a few good places to fish locally (lower mainland) for Rainbows and Bullies? I have some new toys from xmas I want to try out.

TheLostSockeye

Re: Fishing for Bull and Rainbow trout in winter
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2016, 07:29:19 PM »

I am fairly new to river fishing and completely new to fishing during the winter months, where would be a few good places to fish locally (lower mainland) for Rainbows and Bullies? I have some new toys from xmas I want to try out.

VEDDER!!!

Sandman

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2016, 08:08:48 PM »

VEDDER!!!

X2.  By far the best system for both.  That said, just about any stream connected to the Fraser is a going to have resident bows, and if they have viable salmon runs, then they will likely have sea run cutties as well, they just have fewer numbers.  Chehalis also must have bulls as I have caught them up in the lake, but you don't hear much about interceptions in the lower river.  The lower Pitt also has both as does the Harrison, but you will want a boat for these larger streams.  The Vedder is by far the most productive for both, and of course you can also get the occasional steelhead to spice things up.
Not all those who wander are lost

SilverChaser

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2016, 08:35:18 PM »

X3 to Vedder. Steelhead, Cutthroat, Bullies, Whitefish. Spend time on the river, read about winter fishing, etc. and you will be good to go. Good luck!
Freestone Fly Co Ambassador
Halieus Outdoors Team Member

Wiseguy

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2016, 09:24:30 PM »