Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fly Fishing Lower Mainland Rivers  (Read 2917 times)

jackie

Fly Fishing Lower Mainland Rivers
« on: April 02, 2014, 04:16:13 PM »

Hi
I'm just getting into fly fishing as I got a 4 wt trout rod for my 14th birthday.
I'm not into fishing lakes as much, but more into wading along rivers.
What are some good trout patterns for a beginner to use?
Nymphs, Dries, Leeches etc.
Any help is great.
Thanks

Funeral Of Hearts

Re: Fly Fishing Lower Mainland Rivers
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 04:55:24 PM »

Right now? Minnow patterns in the rivers as the salmon fry are on the move and that is what a lot of the fish will be keying on.

Daguru

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2014, 02:26:43 AM »

Woolie buggers!! Fish seem to love them

RalphH

• Old Timer
    • Initating Salmon Fry
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2014, 08:30:39 AM »

First I'd suggest you go to a good tackle shop like Michael and Young (Surrey & Vancouver), Sea Run on Austin in Coquitlam, Berrys in Richmond or Hatch Matcher in Maple Ridge and ask them to recommend some flies.

Second fish in the local Fraser Valley trout streams aren't usually too particular about the pattern or too selective. Get the size, shape and colour right and you should do fine. However there will be days that are exceptions. There isn't a lot of dry fly fishing but it does happen.

In general buy flies that generally represent what fish feed on:

Other fish: minnows - mostly stickle backs - smaller short shank bright flies - A tied down mylar minnow in #8-#12 is a good example as the Rolled Muddler