Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Stream/small river for fly fishing advice  (Read 7547 times)

nicfillion

Stream/small river for fly fishing advice
« on: March 14, 2014, 01:32:14 AM »

Dear fishers with rods,

I'm new to the region (and to this website!) and, as the nice weather returns, I was hoping to be able to find a place to do some fly fishing within 60-90 mins drive from Burnaby. I'll do some exploration of my own when I have more time this summer, but in the meantime I was hoping some kind-hearted person here would be willing to suggest a place. Basically, I don't need it to be a dream fishing spot, just a place where you can comfortably fly fish, and hopefully can catch a few fishes (with two eyes only, if possible, so not a very polluted place). I like small streams, but it's pretty hard to find those online or from maps, since most of them are really hard to fish with a fly rod.

Thanks in advance!
Nic

zap brannigan

Re: Stream/small river for fly fishing advice
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 06:52:20 AM »

The reason their hard to find info on is because most are pretty quite about small streams and systems because most around the region are sensitive/endangered, so if you get a lack of info it's not because no one likes you it's because people choose not go talk about them, especially on an open forum.

ALBA CHIEFISH

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2014, 08:00:47 AM »

any of the Squamish tribs should be good to though a fly over. a bit over your time limit but worth it for the scenery, even if the fishing can be slow. tight lines.

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2014, 10:19:46 AM »