Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Speechless on June 15th  (Read 2842 times)

clarki

• Old Timer
Speechless on June 15th
« on: June 15, 2004, 11:13:14 PM »

Ever have one of those night's fishing when you are left speechless?

I've been fishing sea run cutthroat for 10 years now. I have a home beach that on average produces a couple of fish a night. If I land a couple of fish, and lose a couple more, it's been a good night in my books. My best night several years ago produced about 6-8 fish for about 10 or so hooked.

Fished the ebb tide tonight. There had been a stiff onshore breeze for most of the day which tends to pile the weedage in along the shore and make for a difficult time fishing. There was also a chop on the water.  Not my favourite conditions but I hadn't been out for more than a month so wasn't about to go home.

After a couple of spot changes to find some clearer water I found a flat rock to perch on in waist deep water and began to let my spoon sink a bit deeper to avoid the weedage. Then the action started...and it didn't stop.

Final tally for the night was 23 fish hooked...yes, 23...of which I landed a bit less than half. And that's not counting the strikes that I missed or the fish that jumped at my lure as I was lifting it from the water.

17 fish from my first flat rock in the first hour. All fish were wild, bright and feisty. The ones that I lost were obviously feistier. Biggest one I landed was about 15", lost a few in that range too.        

It's not often the fish are that congregated and that the action is that steady for such a long period of time. They aren't called ghosts for nothing. Apparently I hit a large pod at just the right time at just the right place.