Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Trolling motor batteries  (Read 5041 times)

Ambassador

Trolling motor batteries
« on: December 02, 2013, 12:00:16 PM »

Anyone have any suggestions for a decent trolling motor battery? I have a 2 year old Motomaster Nautilus that wont last a full day now and has left me stranded on the far side of the lake against the wind a couple times - which can be quite the workout and challenge to keep straight in a keel-less inflatable Fish Hunter. I generally only have it on the lowest speed and still I can only get a few hours out of it. Probably wont get a new one until spring, but if I come across some ridiculous Boxing Day sale or something I will grab one sooner.
"Perhaps fishing is, for me, only an excuse to be near rivers"
Roderick Haig-Brown

Suther

Re: Trolling motor batteries
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 12:30:50 PM »

My dad uses a commercial grade truck battery. Weighs like 70lbs but lasts forever.

Tenz85

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2013, 03:34:09 PM »

If you're bent on using electric, you could buy two new batteries then wire them up in parallel which will make them last long. Main thing with batteries is not to over use them and keep it well maintained/charged.

Ambassador

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2013, 03:48:57 PM »

If you're bent on using electric, you could buy two new batteries then wire them up in parallel which will make them last long. Main thing with batteries is not to over use them and keep it well maintained/charged.
I imagine that would work well - I am just hoping I can find one good one that will last at least a day (or two) on the water without costing me a bunch.