Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Cap June 9th  (Read 2355 times)

tsuribaka

• I'm a llama!
Cap June 9th
« on: June 10, 2004, 01:36:37 AM »

Anyone elso notice its been pretty slow at the Cap recently??  As I am new to fishing there I dont know the river much, but its getting really frustrating spending so much time with so little action.  I have put in a lot of hours up there and have nothing to show for it since landing a nice one a month or so ago.  I have tried everything in the book and just cant seem to get em. And I have seen only 2 other guys land a fish in all my time there!  Is it always this slow up there?
 That being said, I seen quite a few nice fish all in shallow water and not moving a lot today.  I was able to drag row, flies, spinner and spoons infront of their faces and they didnt even sniff at it...  also saw what I thought were 2 fish together but acutally turned out to be one HUGE mama!!  Not sure if it was a Coho or not.  Could it be a steelhead or different salmon??  I think it was too bug for one of these bluebacks!
Also, Is this Coho run full on now or can we expect it to pick up a little more in the next few weeks??  Coming from the Kootenays its strange to spend so much time on a body of water without having much action..  or maybe its something I am doing wrong hahah??? ???

Athezone

• Old Timer
Re:Cap June 9th
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2004, 07:46:05 AM »

Hi tsuribaka, no, you got it about right. I've been fishing the ole Capper for a good many years and many, many times it's a waiting game. A run comes into