Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: One Hand or Two?  (Read 18415 times)

FlyFishin Magician

• Old Timer
Re: One Hand or Two?
« Reply #30 on: February 17, 2013, 08:41:44 AM »

I'm just getting into the world of two-handed casting after about 15 years of using a single hander.  One thing I can recommend is this - for salmon fishing in the LML, I wouldn't use anything less than a 7 weight single hander.  Yes, one could get away with a 5/6 weight for small salmon (e.g. pinks).  Sure, you can just "break off" if you hook a big fish.  But after I've put in the effort to tie a nice fly, I don't like breaking flies off.  My 5 weights are used for the interior lakes for trout.

If you're not sure about what weight to use, check with the rod manufacturer's recommendations.   ;)

HOOK

• Old Timer
« Reply #31 on: February 17, 2013, 09:49:21 AM »

obviously your not paying attention  ::)

I am fully aware a 4wt switch is not the same as a 4wt single however it IS NOT the equivalent of a 7wt single as you eluded to earlier !

I think the reason people may think this way is because of how fly lines work in regards to using single handed lines for two handed rods. two handed rods need higher grain weights to load properly

Two hander - single handed lines

4wt - 7wt
5wt - 8wt
6wt - 9wt
and so on. of course this is not an exact science but its a place to start when trying to match single handed lines to a two handed rod (usually switches)

Im not sure exactly how they figure out line weights for rods but im sure it has something to do with breaking strength, blank thickness.........etc.