Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: hi ppl i wanna get a baitcaster  (Read 6147 times)

DanL

• Old Timer
Re: hi ppl i wanna get a baitcaster
« Reply #15 on: September 30, 2012, 11:57:22 AM »

I use the Curado 301E left handed the righty is the 300. Its a work horse and can take abuse. I have 275 yards of Power Pro on mine (30lb). The drag system is super smooth. Ive been told by other fishers that it is to light of a reel but have yet to be proven wrong.

Too light of a reel? maybe for sturgeon ;)   I prefer smaller reels too, I use an even smaller Calcutta 200 as an all-rounder and it has landed all manner of fish without too much problem. If I was specifically targetting big springs, I go a size up but having much lighter and easier handling reel makes a days fishing much more enjoyable, IMHO

I've got an entry level Shimano reel - the Corvalus 400. I'm actually new to bait-casting reels so I don't know if it's me or the reel but I've been having a heck of a time with birds nests! ??? I've just read on another thread that this may be because there is too much line so I'm going to try taking some off and see if that improves the ratio of good/bad casts for me

I think that other thread is referring to spinning reels, so may not be relevant to your case. Where in your cast are you getting backlash? Use your thumb more to control to freespool throughout the cast and tighten up the cast control setting to help prevent over-runs. You'll lose a bit of distance at first until you get used to it.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2012, 12:06:13 PM by DanL »

Bandit420

« Reply #16 on: September 30, 2012, 12:00:14 PM »

Look into a Shimano Cardiff. They are reasonabley inexpensive and are solid reels. I have a cardiff 301 and love it
If you're not fishing, you're not living!

Matt Nash

« Reply #17 on: September 30, 2012, 01:43:04 PM »