Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Leaders... Tippet...  (Read 3760 times)

Jewelz

• I've got the bug
Leaders... Tippet...
« on: May 29, 2012, 08:15:18 PM »

I'm brand new to fly fishing... like so new I don't even have line on my newly bought fly combo. So here's my first question relating to gear, are a leader and a tippet the same thing just called by two different names? If so, can you use normal fluorocarbon line (ie the same stuff you would use as a leader on a float drift setup) for leader material on a fly setup? Thanks in advance.
Peace. One. Jewelz.
"Who knew that fishing was this addicting..."

Sandman

• Old Timer
Re: Leaders... Tippet...
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 08:42:52 PM »

I'm brand new to fly fishing... like so new I don't even have line on my newly bought fly combo. So here's my first question relating to gear, are a leader and a tippet the same thing just called by two different names? If so, can you use normal fluorocarbon line (ie the same stuff you would use as a leader on a float drift setup) for leader material on a fly setup? Thanks in advance.