Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Float fishing roe?  (Read 5839 times)

gipetron

Float fishing roe?
« on: June 12, 2012, 01:48:37 PM »

I was out float fishing with roe on the cap the other day and noticed that the roe seemed to be floating up a bit putting slack in the leader. I'm new to this style of fishing and am wondering if this is normal or is there something I should be doing differently? My setup was bobber stops, float, hollow pencil lead, swivel, then 18 inch leader.

cohoaaron

Re: Float fishing roe?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 03:15:59 PM »

I was out float fishing with roe on the cap the other day and noticed that the roe seemed to be floating up a bit putting slack in the leader. I'm new to this style of fishing and am wondering if this is normal or is there something I should be doing differently? My setup was bobber stops, float, hollow pencil lead, swivel, then 18 inch leader.
you are doing everything correct. Ya just let the roe do what it would naturally. If you want to get into a faster deeper hole though you might want to add a very small split shot right above your hook (thats worked for me in the past)
Actually, an 18 inch leader is a little long. Try 13-16  inches
« Last Edit: June 12, 2012, 03:18:20 PM by cohoaaron »

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 04:33:39 PM »