Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: New fly fisherman looking for help  (Read 5088 times)

alan701

New fly fisherman looking for help
« on: April 25, 2012, 01:06:52 PM »

So I'm brand new to fly fishing and fly tying and really looking forward to trying it out for the first time. I'm coming from level wind fishing in the rivers and spincasting so I'm not totally new to fishing. I want to buy a fly fishing and fly tying outfit sometime soon, keeping the price fairly low if possible, and I did some research but I'd like to get opinions.

I looked around for vises and kits and I found this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ASGs-14-FLY-TYING-KIT-VISE-TOOLS-BLISTER-PACKED-FREIGHT-FREE-/150803361407?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item231c94ae7f it has a ceramic insert bobbin but I'm not so sure about the vise.
And I just saw this one http://www.ebay.com/itm/ASGs-FLY-TYING-KIT-7-ITEMS-AA-VISE-TOOLS-takes-all-hooks-FREIGHT-FREE-/120902270885?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c26563fa5 less tools but the vise looks better. I plan on tying jigs for chum as well but I don't know where to get jig heads with nice hooks or the pins and beads like these so I can use my own hooks: http://bentrods.ca/product/25-do-it-yourself-jig-pack

For the rod and reel I'd to go to the tackle store, I usually go to, and look around and see what they have first but I figure most well known brands like pflueger are good? I know for level wind most people recommend shimano and abu (c3 c4) reels, shimano, trophy xl rods, etc so I could be wrong about fly fishing. I plan on fishing lake trout and fraser pinks so I figure a 6 wt 9 foot will be good.

typhoon

• Old Timer
Re: New fly fisherman looking for help
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 03:34:39 PM »

My understanding are that these are cheap regal knock-off vises made offshore. The jaws may be made of good steel or they could break on the first hook.