Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Sea Run Cutthroat Trout fly patterns  (Read 21423 times)

steve B

Sea Run Cutthroat Trout fly patterns
« on: January 25, 2011, 11:16:17 AM »

im looking for some good all around patterns for fishing the Stave, Harrison, Alouette, Coquitlam, Vedder/chilliwack rivers

joska

• Old Timer
Re: Sea Run Cutthroat Trout fly patterns
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 12:33:04 PM »

i am no pro at the bug slinging, but i have read lots that rolled muddlers work well...
If you don't like the fish you're catching... change the bait!!

wizard

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2011, 03:13:34 PM »

tied down minnow/epoxy minnow are classic cutthroat trout pattern.
anything resembling a forage fish such as sticklebacks or minnows should produce, especially in spring.

Clarki Hunter

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2011, 05:55:52 PM »

Try some attractors right now as well.  Red and yellows are excellent cuttie colours.  Don't forget that they are trout so take some nymphs too.  Do a search and you'll find quite a few easy to tie or easily bought flies.

http://www.angelfire.com/wa/salmonid/patterns5.html

mykisscrazy

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2011, 03:35:40 PM »

Clarki Hunter that web page you supplied is amazing. I have never seen, basically all 5 of my top 5 Sea run cuttie patterns in one place before!

One the Borden Special I only use in salt water. It was my go to pattern when I used to live on the Sunshine Coast. A local told me about it, showed me how to tie it and I've never looked back! The other's include the Rolled Muddler, Silver Bullet, Johnson's Beach Fly, and Knudson's Spider.

However for backwaters on the Fraser and the Tidal Fraser I have a few others that I use for Coastal Cutties.

These I use in the Tidal Fraser and it's backwaters.

Sandman

• Old Timer
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2011, 09:45:26 PM »