Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: lighting lake manning park  (Read 22501 times)

tumbleweed

lighting lake manning park
« on: July 13, 2010, 08:36:05 PM »

Going camping for a week at manning park. Has anyone fished lighting lake? I think you can rent canoes there, I might troll a fly around. any suggestions on what I should be using? Leechs?

gman

Re: lighting lake manning park
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 08:52:45 PM »

There's lots of small rainbows in that lake. Yes, you can rent canoes and trolling a fly will produce. Also just walk along the trails and you can see the trout in the lake, often near sunken logs etc. When you see them - fish there. I'm no expert fly fisherman but any small fly trolled behind the boat, or after a casted torpedo float worked for the kids ok. 
Good luck!

samw

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2010, 12:41:59 AM »

I've caught some by float fishing with worms in the evening from shore near the parking lot.  

« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 12:44:56 AM by samw »

Bavarian Raven

« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2010, 04:31:15 PM »

shore across from the campground is a good place to troll. wedding rings and worms. with any luck, u might catch one of those monsters in the lake =D cheers.

gofishon

« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2010, 07:22:37 PM »

I think you are on the right track with trolling a fly. Those small rainbows are voracious feeders and tend to swallow the worm too deep to be released. Try any small to medium sized attractor fly like a Doc Spratley. Good luck!

fishman1

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2010, 06:04:14 PM »