Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Rod Building  (Read 7693 times)

Funeral Of Hearts

Rod Building
« on: June 09, 2010, 09:19:39 PM »

I have never built my own rod but i think i would like to try.

Anyone here have any words of wisdom with regards to the materials, equipment or process?

I'm a complete rookie when it comes to this but i love a challenge and it looks like fun. I've done the usual FWR search and the usual google search, im just looking for your two cent. Yes you, the one sitting there reading this....  ;)

kingpin

• Old Timer
Re: Rod Building
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 12:32:11 AM »

call reaction fly and tackle. 604-870-3591. they do courses every now and again on building rods..i think its 60 bucks for the course and then you pay for materials that you want. Terry will be the one doing the course, hes a good builder and im sure it would be a great way to get started
Im an advocate for the supremacy of the bait fisherman race and a firm believer in the purity of it.

Gooey

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2010, 06:37:12 AM »

I am a pretty active hobby builder…I have done maybe 20+ rods now.  I am currently working on 4 different Sages but I also have built up some lamiglas rods that are great.

In terms of components, I think Sages are worth every penny in terms of the fishing experience and the long term value.  My first build was a 3113mb and I learned a lot from it.  First thing was to shape your corks slowly, that’s one stage you can't easily undo!  The cork work on that first rod is OK but subsequent rods turned out much better.  I use a taped up drill bit in the butt of the rod and a roller one the blank to create a lathe!  I usually masking tape up any area that I want to protect from scratches (rod blank area that sits on the rollers, reel seat, etc).