Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Proposed access restriction at Furry Creek  (Read 9412 times)

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
Proposed access restriction at Furry Creek
« on: October 29, 2009, 05:28:36 PM »

If you enjoyed the beach fishery at Furry Creek this past summer, this may interest you. With the information given (start the email dialogue with SLRD, not complaining on the forum about the proposal), take action if you still wish to have the same enjoyment in two years from now.

C&P from FishBC's forum.

I am a resident of Oliver’s Landing, a townhome development at Furry Creek along scenic Howe Sound. I thought that you may be interested in an action underway by our strata council that will impact on the general public, and other fisherpersons in the lower mainland.

Our Strata President, Mr. Richard Bennetts, has lobbied the Squamish Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) to restrict public access to the creek and oceanfront in Furry Creek because the fisherpersons are creating a nuisance, and “we recently experienced an invasion of people from outside the Furry Creek community to fish along our waterfront”. They have requested that the public parking and access to the waterfront be restricted to “residents and guests of the greater community” because “for six weeks the community withstood this invasion of our property and civil rights”. As well, they are lobbying to “close the fishery in East Howe Sound”.