Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Run of the River Projects on local tributaries  (Read 19572 times)

hammer

Run of the River Projects on local tributaries
« on: January 12, 2010, 08:00:09 PM »

On Monday night there was a meeting involving stakeholders and various groups in regards to "Run of the River" power projects in B.C.  As outdoor enthusiasts, the development of these is something to know about. I am not an expert, but I as I understand it, licensing rights and the right to develop infrastructure like roads and related developments is being alloted to private as well as foreign investment groups. Craig Orr from Watershed Watch has alot of information as well as concerns (google "watershed watch" + "Vancouver Sun") in several articles as well on the Watershed Watch site. Here is a link from BCTC with existing and proposed projects
http://www.bctc.com/NR/rdonlyres/85300512-02FD-4948-A720-2F5F1835CD2D/0/ILM_EA_fig10_1.pdf
What struck me was how many there are on the north side of Fraser in the Harrison area, particularly on systems that have fragile number of wild stocks (Examples, Cogburn, Big Silver, Statlu). I would like to know who the regulatory body is for these projects. I also understand that projects under a certain size (production) will be operating under less stringent regulations (whatever that means). Water Licensing information is available by googling B.C. water license report. It indicates that many of these sites are designated for "storage" and "general power". At any rate, a network of roads, developments, access control, and powerlines will probably affect my experience and fish I fish for.
I am not usually political and I don't have all the facts, but I think this is worthwhile knowing. I would like to note that Eagleeye brought this up on Nov. 25, 2009.