Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A question on strike detection  (Read 1622 times)

Scott

A question on strike detection
« on: February 03, 2009, 04:05:25 PM »

This is my first year steelheading and I have a question about vibrations.  You know when your weight hits the ground and you can feel the vibrations from it transferred up to your thumb?  Well I was wondering if there are any vibrations when a steelhead takes your offering.  Is it possible to detect a strike even if your float does not sink?

HOOK

• Old Timer
Re: A question on strike detection
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 04:45:27 PM »

you want your presentation 1-2 feet off bottom. if your achieving this then yes you can detect small strikes before the float plunges. I caught several white springs this year this exact way, i was using big chunks of roe and they really like to just suck it off your hook. some of the people around me (flossers mostly) didnt understand how i was catching so many without my float going under. Every fish was hooked nicely inside the mouth, I even had one chase it and almost rip the rod out of my hand  :o
Check out our new blog

http://funonthefly.blogspot.ca/

coho killer

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 06:13:29 PM »

I like my gear about 8 inch off the bottom.Looks more natural then it bouncing i think. I hooked 2 fish this year without my float going down it just kinda stopped and started to swim up stream.

hue-nut

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2009, 07:23:05 PM »

I don't think he's saying that he floats, touching bottom, but rather, can you detect a light strike in the same way that you can feel the subtle tink of bottom when you are floating too deep.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2009, 07:43:53 PM »