Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: wet cel sinking lines  (Read 3119 times)

ray

• I'm a llama!
wet cel sinking lines
« on: April 29, 2008, 12:33:11 PM »

I'm just getting into flyfishing lakes and want to get a sinking fly line so i was wondering about this one. i dont get out to do it too much so i dont want to spend to much on a line. any info on what is the best inexpensive good flyline would be appreciated. it will be used for trolling and casting . thanks

ffonly

• the truth is out there...
Re: wet cel sinking lines
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 04:21:00 PM »

I've only used Rio full sink lines so can only comment on them but SA or other brands should do you fine if they are cheaper.

Most people start with a clear/intermediate line which has a sink rate of about 1.5 - 2 inches per second. The Rio intermediate has a 40ft clear head with 60 ft green semi clear looking running line. If you want to go with something that is faster sinking then any of their Type 3 / 4 / 6 Full Sink lake lines will work. They are a full black colored line and sink at these rates

Deep 3: WF4S to WF8S ~ 3-4 inches per second
Deep 4: WF4S to WF8S ~ 4-5 inches per second
Deep 6: WF4S to WF9S ~ 6-7 inches per second

I use the Type 4 on my 5wt and have fished it on lower mainland and interior lakes with success. I do like having a line that sinks faster over the intermediates but a lot of people use the clear lines. I don't know how much it really affects the spookability factor of the fish but you can always adjust your retrieve or troll to suit what type of sink rate you want with the heavier type 3+ lines.
There is a tall church across the street from the statue

with crosses, steeples, bells and a vast door that looks like

a huge mousehole, perhaps from a Tom and Jerry cartoon,

and written above the door is "Per L'Universo."