Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: fishing with spoons.....  (Read 3313 times)

lineBroke

fishing with spoons.....
« on: October 11, 2006, 05:34:01 PM »

hi all....been reading many threads about flossing and BB'ing and how it is not recommended.....point taken...First off, I'm pretty new to the sport, been fishing on / off for a couple of years but getting to be an addict fisherman day by day and can't wait to get out more. Went out yesterday at the vedder and started fishing with some home made spoons and was wondering if I should be doing something different....My set up was a 10 lb line with 8 lb leader of about 2-3 feet with a split shot just above the spoon. Medium action rod of 8 feet with a spinning reel. Cast out and try slow retrieve.....no action. Tried faster retrieve...no action. Should I be putting some color wool with that spoon and also, does fishing with spoon require float?...thx for any help.

Anyway...good day of fishing on the water none the less. Made some roes for the first time yesterday and hoping to try that next week on the vedder, will be my second time trying with that setup. Hoping for a better result. Love the forum and read it as much as I can.

Oh, one more note....does fishing without float....pencil lead sinker with a 2 - 3 feet leader be considered BB'ing or flossing?.....thx again for the input.

cc

GoldHammeredCroc

• Old Timer
Re: fishing with spoons.....
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2006, 06:35:39 PM »

Try the canal lower down and fish the still or very slow water.  Other good locations to use spoons are the Harrison (when there is water), the Stave and the Nicomen slough as well.  Don't forget the mainstem Fraser, lots of fishing especially fresh chums coming in on the high tides.  Good luck

bentrod

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2006, 06:42:01 PM »