Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Flyfishing for coho in the cap....  (Read 11054 times)

Ribwart

Flyfishing for coho in the cap....
« on: April 23, 2006, 02:04:41 PM »

Well guys and gals, I'm trapped!!! I've recently come to the realization that I won't be able to get out on any flow for quite a while... :(
So I've been thinking when will be the next time I can get out of this hell I'm in and it will probably be sometime during the summer run of coho on the cap....
What I am wondering is, does anyone have any first hand experience flyfishing for these little bluebacks??? I think I would like to give it a shot, and am hoping someone here will be able to help me out with some basic setup & technique info to get me started...
I'm not a novice flyfisherman, I just usually fish stillwaters on the fly and am hoping to make the transition to rivers. I'm figuring a good start would be to practice by trying my hand at a few of these smaller bluebacks with my 5 wt before I pick up a good 8-9 wt for steelies next year...Anyone?
Thx in advance,
Rib
« Last Edit: April 23, 2006, 02:30:43 PM by Ribwart »

Stratocaster

• Old Timer
Re: Flyfishing for coho in the cap....
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2006, 03:14:42 PM »

When the water rises a bit and bring some fresh fish in, wait for the water to drop, go to the cable pool, down the stairs and flyfish with muddler and minnow patterns at first and last light.  Seen some fly guys outfish the gear guys that fish off the ledge.

Ribwart

« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2006, 03:37:02 PM »

Thanks Doug, that's definitely helpful... Anyone else add anything?

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2006, 04:29:51 PM »