Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Inexpensive but good/OK inflatable  (Read 3081 times)

Hiker

• I'm a good llama!
Inexpensive but good/OK inflatable
« on: June 02, 2005, 01:10:00 AM »

I am finally thinking to settle for an inexpensive but at least decent inflatable for now, to use it for lake fishing. Two makes which I found the mostly advertised, or eye catching, are Sevylor and Intex. As I have no experience with inflatables, was wandering if anybody did use these or could me give advice in what direction to go, what to look for, what questions to ask, ... All the help would be very appreciated.

BwiBwi

• Old Timer
Re: Inexpensive but good/OK inflatable
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2005, 01:17:56 AM »

I got a Zodiac Mark 2 which is very good for lake. But a little bit heavy though :P

DragonSpeed

• Old Timer
  • Less Computer Time - More fishing Time...yes YOU!
    • My Pictures
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2005, 07:34:27 AM »

Intex Seahawk II - OK if you like rowing a lot.
I think Sevylor is the Fishhunter.  You can mount an electric motor on it.  Nice for trolling.

Disclosure: I own a Seahawk (10ft) and like it, except for the paddling like a mad fool when the wind is blowing the wrong way :(

WestEast

« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2005, 12:51:46 PM »

Yesterday evening, I tried out my kayak with a home-built rod-holder, on Buntzen Lake. I usually use a belly-float on this lake, but find that it takes too long to get to my favoured sides.... also the wind keeps pushing me backwards!

My kayak weighs 35lbs and is easy to load/unload. Probably quicker to prepare than an uninflated belly-boat.