Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: fish hooks? size/style for salmon?  (Read 18149 times)

Suther

fish hooks? size/style for salmon?
« on: September 28, 2013, 11:20:11 PM »

So I'm curious about fish hooks. I'm new-again to fishing, and was too young to know there were different kinds of hooks when I got out of it before.

What are the different hooks used for? I have o'shaunassey, octopus, kahle, and baitholder hooks (they came in a pack) and some random standard hooks.

What do people use for salmon? I assume different species require different sized hooks as well? From what I've read, 1/0 is a good choice for chum? (that's what I'm about to go after...)
I have done some reading, and can't come up with anything conclusive right now. Help is appreciated!

Animal Chin

Re: fish hooks? size/style for salmon?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2013, 11:36:45 PM »

I'm no expert and have yet to land a big spring.. but have caught all the other types of salmon and generally fished the popular lower mainland flows (Vedder, Stave, Tidal Fraser etc). Float, spinning and bar fishing. No ocean experience.

In the beginning 1, or 1/0. Now I've gone smaller. I've gotten use to using size 2 hooks with roe, size 1 with blades I make, and when I tie jigs I think they're 1/0. I think size 2 is small enough for clear water and big enough for the salmon I target/catch.

Though I like to be "stealthy"... and care most about coho. Chum and pinks when they're biting are pretty aggressive so I think 1 or 1/0 for them is fine.. I have inadvertently caught some pretty big chum plunking with roe on #2 hooks though, but I almost exclusively use jigs for them and Bent Rods jigs are 1/0 thick gauge sickle hooks (awesome hook).

Types of hooks I think are personal preference and what you have most confidence in. I don't cheap out on hooks or leader material.