Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: smoking fish question  (Read 18551 times)

oldtimehockey

smoking fish question
« on: December 10, 2006, 11:03:40 AM »

I am new to smoking fish and did my first batch yesterday.  How much moisture should there still be in the fish after hot smoking?  I brined the fish the night before.  Washed it off and dried it with paper towel.  Let dry for 1 hour before putting into my little chief smoker.  I ended up leaving some pieces in for 12 hours and others for 14.   The fish was dry on the outside and still a bit moist on the inside.  Is this ok or should it all be dry?
"I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father"
-Greg Norman

CAPTAIN BONK

• Old Timer
  • THERE'S NO HEAD BETTER THEN STEELHEAD !
Re: smoking fish question
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2006, 11:18:25 AM »

RIGHT AFTER U SMOKE IF, PUT IT IN THE FRIDGE OVER NIGHT, IT SHOULD BE READY TO GO THE NEXT DAY AS THE FISH FIRMS UP A BIT !

lucky

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2006, 11:26:57 AM »

when I do mine with the little chief I brine it, then let the peices dry for a day on the racks  in a cool area, then we smoke it for about three pans of moist chips, we check it and if its still a little mushy in the center we let it cook for a little while longer without any more smoke. Try and use equal size peices of fish, nothing too thick, and by allowing to dry for 6 to 8hrs this will cut down on the time in the smoker.

CAPTAIN BONK

• Old Timer
  • THERE'S NO HEAD BETTER THEN STEELHEAD !
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2006, 11:39:27 AM »

nothing too thick

^ I JUST SMOKED A 40 POUND RED, PROB THE BEST FISH I EVER SMOKED, ALL U HAVE TO DO IS PUT SLICES IN UR FILLET EVERY 2 INCHES OR SO RIGHT DOWN TO THE SKIN, SO THAT THE BRINE AND SMOKE GET ALL THE WAY THROUGH !

Eagleye

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2006, 01:38:49 PM »