Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: where to launch?  (Read 7255 times)

jimstone

where to launch?
« on: July 18, 2012, 03:07:06 PM »

Im a rookie saltwater boater and fisherman but would like to take my dad to the west van shoreline area for cohos tommorrow. wondering about the best (easy) place to launch my boat .I was told the parking at ambleside is poor and spots to park truck and trailer are gone first thing in the a.m. have been advised to get some more experience before going under lions gate in a running tide? leaving new  west at 0900 any suggestions???? boat is a hewescraft 16  thanks  jim

Easywater

• Old Timer
Re: where to launch?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 03:50:27 PM »

You can launch at the ramp near the Planetarium in Kits (Vanier Park) and run around Stanley Park.

troutbreath

• Old Timer
  • I does Christy
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 04:52:14 PM »

Check the tides for the time you will be fishing there. It can be a pain in the butt fighting strong currents while fishing there. Are you trolling or jigging?
another SLICE of dirty fish perhaps?

jimstone

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2012, 05:15:07 PM »

im trolling with flashers with hoochies and spoons

troutbreath

• Old Timer
  • I does Christy
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2012, 06:34:31 PM »

http://www.waterlevels.gc.ca/eng/station?sid=7795

Big tide change for that area tomorrow so be ready for it. I would be inclined to launch in West Van and fish west of the launch. Tide will be ripping out in the centre between Stanley park and Ambleside. The closer to shore the less the current but keep an eye on the bottom. Should be able to see the fish jumping and stay after them in those areas. The wind can pick up too around noon when the tide will be at it's lowest. My old standby when not buzzbombing was a white hoochie with tinsel skirt. I have to get out there this year and try for them.