Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: new to fly fishing  (Read 6012 times)

lucarno

new to fly fishing
« on: March 31, 2013, 02:51:13 AM »

hey i'm just getting into fly fishing and was wandering about what knots are appropriate for attaching the tippet to different types of flies. i had good success today with a pumpkin head and an improved clinch knot. what about loop knots? is that just for chironomids? i'm a total beginner so far i'm just trolling. got a few micro leeches, pumpkin heads and spratleys. will certain knots give these better action when being trolled or stripped in? also when it starts to get dark out do i want to move to something bigger or brighter color? any sage knowledge would be appreciated. oh and any recommended reading? thanks. 

BNF861

• Old Timer
Re: new to fly fishing
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2013, 07:28:34 AM »

An improved cinch knot will work fine but for improved action of the fly I like to use a non slip loop knot. It is especially useful for flys that are suspended under an indicator, but I use a loop knot for almost every fly except for when using dries for the extra movement that it allows

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6t1TIMv-Ok

Noahs Arc

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2013, 08:34:37 AM »

Exactly what BNF said. Every fly in the box gets the loop knot except dries.

Sandman

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2013, 02:53:42 PM »

I also use a trilene knot, over the improved clinch knot, it is as quick to tie and stronger.  The loop will give you much more action, even when stripping or trolling, especially those leaches if you are rowing while trolling.
Not all those who wander are lost

DanJohn

• First Brookie!
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2013, 08:25:32 PM »

Holy crap that loop knot is stupid simple to tie.