Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Soft baits for bass.  (Read 8124 times)

fishseeker

• Old Timer
Soft baits for bass.
« on: April 10, 2009, 08:53:50 AM »

I read an interesting article in the "Sport fishing" magazine ( March issue) on soft baits for bass.  It was very informative.

I have had some limited experience catching small ones flyfishing and by spin-casting a flatfish and I would like to try out soft baits this year either by jigging or using a carolina rig depending on which is most appropriate.    The only thing I couldn't get out of the article are recommendations on what size and color soft baits work best around here.   I think I am inclined to err on the small size with this because the bass I have been catching are pretty small - (at least, the few times I have targetted these).

Any suggestions on size and color would be much appreciated.

PS: I am not interested in any bass debates. I am aware of the issues with this alien species but, since they are there, I will fish for them along with everything else provided it is legal to do so.

k.c.

• A bad day fishing beats a good day working
    • west coast bass anglers
Re: Soft baits for bass.
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2009, 09:04:32 AM »

I went to army and navy and bought some frog soft baits they look kinda big but i was talking to some guys from the westcoast bass anglers club and this is what they reccommended. They also said that the katsie marsh by pitt lake is loaded with some good sized bass

fishseeker

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2009, 11:44:06 AM »

I went to army and navy and bought some frog soft baits they look kinda big but i was talking to some guys from the westcoast bass anglers club and this is what they reccommended. They also said that the katsie marsh by pitt lake is loaded with some good sized bass