Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: coho/chinooks chehalis canyon  (Read 15368 times)

vlad777

coho/chinooks chehalis canyon
« on: October 26, 2008, 08:55:44 PM »

Hello everyone I am new to this forum, I have been fishing for salmon for over 8-9 years now during which I mostly enjoyed success. Unfortunately this year is my worst year to date. I have fished the chilliwack starting in about late september and every weekend on untill about october 20th or so. I was mostly around the railroad bridge area, All that time I saw no Spring, I caught only 2 cohos and endless chum. I was just wondering did I miss the main runs of spring / cohos or what? because every time during the last seasons I land about 2-5 chinooks and the odd coho every time, but this season nothing :( .

Well anyways enough of the wining :) , My situation is this. I heard that the chehalis canyon was a good spot to fish so I headed up there with my dad today. under the bridge and upwards about 500 meters was all full of chum, so I decided to hike up stream. I hiked for about 20 minutes and walked down the first path that led down to the river. As i got down there were about 7-8 fishermen in the area with 2 having 1 coho each and another guy with a fairly fresh chinook. This was my very first time out at the canyon and I really enjoyed the scenery and clear water, unfortunately I had to time to fish because I had to get going , so I didn't even cast my rod in once.

My question is are there any more places to fish in the canyon if I keep hiking further upstream, and is there a difference in the quality of fishing comparing if you go higher upstream? I am really eager to hook into my first chinook this season and also get a few coho so is now a good time to fish the canyon at all?