Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Derby Reach - Edgewater fishing bar  (Read 7010 times)

aaron.az

Derby Reach - Edgewater fishing bar
« on: September 11, 2011, 11:16:36 PM »

I've been fishing at derby reach for around 4 years now, mainly chucking roe. Finally pink season has come so hopefully when the commercial guy are gone it'll pick up again, i've been skunked 3 times In a row now, beautiful weather makes up for it though! Lots of the so called "regulars" that I've talked to have said that it's becoming a poor fishing bar over the last few years, how can it be any different? Anybody else have a say on this bar or any tips? One morething I live inthe Fraser heights area and barnston island is quite close to me, is there spots to fish there (no boat)

UFC

Re: Derby Reach - Edgewater fishing bar
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2011, 11:24:27 PM »

I'm in Fraser heights too. At times you can fish Barnston a hundred meters or so downstream from the Ferry landing, but only if the log booms are not in place, so it's hit and miss.
Also they seem to travel close to the middle there, so it's not great from shore. I've had a few good days there in previous pink years, but there are better bars to try (i.e. I'd rather go to Derby which I had some luck at last week).

NiceFish

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2011, 06:38:05 AM »

Find a bar where it is deep right off the shore line (or rock line)....and the pinks will be right up against the bank

66TWH

« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2011, 11:24:36 AM »

I used to fish Derby as a kid and was a productive spot. I am assuming that sediment has built up in that area and does not have that "zone" where it drops off nicely anymore. I have not traveled that far down to date to survey with the sounder to be 100% sure.