Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Wulff Ambush Line for river fishing question.  (Read 7326 times)

Animal Chin

Wulff Ambush Line for river fishing question.
« on: September 07, 2015, 10:05:53 PM »

I've used the search function but just want to get some opinions before I buy. I'm pretty new to things fly. I'm getting an 8 weight and thinking hard on what line to buy... I'm leaning towards a shooting head line (anticipating limited backcast space).

- Wulff Ambush or Rio Outbound Short
- Also thinking of the new Rio Perception Line.

The Rio Perception I picked because it's suppose to be a half line heavier. I'm getting better at casting and gaining confidence but I wouldn't mind a little help. I'm thinking the Ambush and Outbound Short would be good choices for roll casting and one handed spey casts (I"ll give it a go anyways). I figure I shouldn't have a problem loading the rod because of the heavy heads.

I remember talking about spey type lines on a single handed rod with one of the guys at Pacific Angler. He mentioned that it really annoyed other beach fishers at Ambleside because the line basically scares off the fish for those around. The Ambush has a 20 ft head and is 290 grains.

If I'm looking to fish places like the Vedder and Stave, frog water etc. for coho, chum, steelhead (?) Is the Ambush line what the guy at Pacific Angler was referring to? Will a 290 grain 20 ft head spook fish in slow moving or pool like water?

Do you guys know what I'm talking about?

The Ambush is also supposedly not great at mending, would this be a huge problem?

Thanks in advance.

Flytech

• Old Timer
  • Wishin' I was Fishin'
    • The Fish Addict
Re: Wulff Ambush Line for river fishing question.
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 06:48:08 AM »