Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Coho fishing at Ambleside  (Read 6491 times)

BananasQ

Coho fishing at Ambleside
« on: August 29, 2014, 09:39:41 AM »

Bit of a noob here, so please be gentle.  :D  I have watched the video, read some of the articles and done some searches. I haven't got out in the Sockeye run this year but I have a good canoe and was looking at doing some Coho fishing in Ambleside to scratch my salmon itch.  My question is really has anyone done anything like this successfully and if so any tips (jigging, mooching, etc) and have I missed the run or is it still going? Thanks in advance!  Oh, and does anyone have a good picture on how to tell if a coho is hatchery or not?

MetalAndFeathers

Re: Coho fishing at Ambleside
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 09:52:10 AM »

Your most likely to catch them jigging buzzbombs and/or spinners and spoons in orange/silver or green/silver.The run is still running strong.A wild coho has an adipose fin the little one before the tail a hatchery one dosent.

BananasQ

« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2014, 10:03:07 AM »

Thanks! I may not be able to get out on the water until mid September, do you know when the run normally tails off?

MetalAndFeathers

« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2014, 10:09:37 AM »

I`d assume october because ive caught ocean fresh cohos in the cap in november.

BananasQ

« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2014, 10:15:28 AM »

Great! Thanks!  Found myself a good with/without picture for the adipose fin here: http://thefisheriesblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/de1de-two_fins2.jpg

bald_seagull

« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2014, 05:18:47 PM »

hopefully it picks up i'm gonna giver hard the next few mornings, hopefully the small amount of rain in the forecast will change the mood

TimL

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2014, 11:06:52 AM »