Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Level wind or low pro for kids  (Read 4689 times)

HOOK

• Old Timer
Level wind or low pro for kids
« on: December 31, 2016, 10:35:43 AM »

Looking to start my 7yr old into his first level wind and not sure whether to go with a low pro style or the standard round one. He's played with many different models while we were at Cabelas (so much variety)

Those of you with kids what type of reel did you start your child with ?
I was also thinking of just skipping this step and getting him a beginner pin reel but I'm not sure if his hands are big enough yet

I have no experience with those low pro reels. What are good models under $150 cad that I should look into ?

Thanks everyone
Check out our new blog

http://funonthefly.blogspot.ca/

dobrolub

Re: Level wind or low pro for kids
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2016, 10:45:25 AM »

you'll want a lighter reel for sure. so low profile would be a good choice. He'll have lot's of fun with lighter gear in the upcoming pink season

FishOn36

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2016, 12:39:20 PM »

I'd go with a low pro for sure. If you're looking for a good starter reel, check out the Abu Garcia "Black Max".

http://www.abugarcia.com/abugarcia-reels-baitcast-reels-low-profile/abu-garcia-black-max-low-profile/1373565.html

bobby b

« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2016, 01:08:42 PM »

I agree, going  Lo pro is going to be lighter and will prob result in more time fishin'..... larger round type reel would prob be fatiguing for a 7 yr old.

Centerpin..... hmmm. Considering both Levelwind and Centerpin do take some getting used to, and levelwind is notoriously 'frustrating' for most beginners, then Centerpin might not be such a bad option if the kiddo shows some interest in learning.