Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Spoon size/weight and other questions?  (Read 7426 times)

naturelover

Spoon size/weight and other questions?
« on: October 16, 2014, 05:50:10 PM »

Hi all,

I'm new to fishing and have been reading the forum and elsewhere to try and learn as much as possible about salmon fishing.
It seems a good method for catching salmon is to cast spoons, but I'm unsure of what weight of spoon to use. I've read that the weight to use depends on the depth and speed of the water, but I seem to have come across a wide range of weights so I'm not quite sure what to use for my specific situation.
I'm fishing the lower Fraser Tidal region, around Delta area. What size/weight would people recommend?
So far I've tried 1/4 oz (croc), 2/5 oz (ironhead), and 5/8 oz (wobbler), but haven't had any success.

Some additional questions:

1) How do you avoid losing spoons on rock snags? I lost 2 spoons on my first day. As the spoon gets closer to shore, the river bank slopes upwards, and I tend to get snagged.
2) How can you tell how deep the water is (in order to know when to start reeling in the spoon at the appropriate depth)?
I try to determine by line slack, but it doesn't seem to work well for me.
3) I've read that often the salmon will bite when the spoon is closer to shore, but that is usually when I start to bottom bounce/snag the spoon due to the slope of the rocky shore. What does it feel like when a Salmon bites the lure? Is it very noticeable, like the pole wrenched from your hand, or very light (i.e. easy to miss)?

My equipment is 25 years old, but I'm hoping it is good enough for shore casting spoons, as I'd like to save a little cash for the time being.
My equipment:
- 6.5 foot graphite rod
- printed on rod: medium action, 6-14 lbs line, cast weight 1/4-3/4 oz.