Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Whonnock or Rolley  (Read 5930 times)

jaygobes

Whonnock or Rolley
« on: June 07, 2010, 09:54:05 AM »

Hi everyone,

Thanks for reading this...I am pretty new to fishing and have decided to take my two sons out (9 and 12) to throw some lines in from shore (we don't have a boat).  Any recommendations on where to go?  I have heard that both Rolley and Whonnock are good (we live in Maple Ridge)...does anyone know if one is better than the other at this time of year?

Thanks for the help. :D

Jay

Funeral Of Hearts

Re: Whonnock or Rolley
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2010, 10:06:57 AM »

I would go to Whonnock. There is a dock there to fish from, it is stocked with rainbows and it has a good population of crappie which are easily caught and can be fun for new fishermen because it is usually constant action.

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2010, 01:34:32 PM »

Another option from Maple Ridge is to head west and fish Lafarge Lake, Como Lake or Buntzen Lake. These three lakes are more regularly stocked so your chance of success is much bigger. Buntzen Lake was just stocked last week with 1,500 fish. If you hike along the eastern side of the lake, there are many quiet, productive spots.

http://www.fishingwithrod.com/blog/?p=170

Both Lafarge and Como Lakes have excellent shore access but they can be quite busy. If I were to choose between the two, then Como Lake would be a better choice as it seems to receive less fishing pressure.

Whonnock Lake has also been stocked last week, but I've always found it to be a challenging lake for shore anglers as majority of the fish can only be reached by a boat.

Nutterbug

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2010, 02:07:42 PM »