Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: A feast of clams  (Read 5690 times)

clarki

• Old Timer
A feast of clams
« on: April 20, 2020, 10:50:46 AM »

On my walkabouts for cutthroat, I always enjoy looking for the sign, tracks and scat of area residents.

Came across this yesterday. There were a couple of similar deposits along this little blackwater pond.  I'm not an expert tracker, but tracks in the mud seemed to indicate river otters.   

Pretty cool :)

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
Re: A feast of clams
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 10:52:45 AM »

What kind of clams are these? We were actually wondering about this yesterday when finding some while walking down a slough.

cutthroat22

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 11:10:21 AM »

Freshwater Mussel?

https://www.oregonconservationstrategy.org/strategy-species/western-ridged-mussel/

Overview

Species Common Name
    Western Ridged Mussel
    Species Scientific Name
    Gonidea angulata

*Edit - If someone wants to do a walkabout to find me...so be it.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 11:13:43 AM by cutthroat22 »

clarki

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2020, 11:23:53 AM »

Yes, more accurately freshwater mussels. I refer to them as clams, but they are properly mussels.

https://pnwmussels.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/pnw_mussel_guide_2nd_edition.pdf

There are many species of the freshwater mussels in the genus Anodonta. My best guess is that it is one of the species commonly referred to as a "floater"     

« Last Edit: April 20, 2020, 11:26:42 AM by clarki »

clarki

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2020, 11:26:18 AM »