Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Colorado blades-how to fish?  (Read 10115 times)

kellya

• Old Timer
  • I'm a llama!
Colorado blades-how to fish?
« on: October 21, 2006, 09:31:05 PM »

Im a noob pretty much at drift fishing still.How do you properly fish a blade drifting? Can you swing them so they spin? or just let them drift with the flow? thanks

Ribwart

Re: Colorado blades-how to fish?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2006, 10:06:58 PM »

I find the best presentation is to have them "Flutter"...this seems to get the most strikes for me...I achieve this depending on the water I am fishing...

Fast water = Short float it, no tension, don't try to impart action at all
slower water = can have just the slightest, non-constant, tension on the line to swing it just a bit, but usually if the blade size and shape are right you can just short float it and still achieve that "flutter" to the blade...you usually can see the blade flashing slowly in the water if you are doing it right, but it doesn't really spin as such...

hope that helps,
rib

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2006, 10:29:53 PM »

I like to hold back on my float a touch when fishing the tailout to allow the blade to lift off the bottom and swing to shore.

allwaysfishin

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2006, 10:09:10 AM »