Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dirty Water Lures......Myths?  (Read 5595 times)

Tuckster

Dirty Water Lures......Myths?
« on: August 19, 2013, 11:27:35 AM »

Thought I would take a collection of opinions.

I have had difficult times up at the Squam as i normally use spoons and spinners. Visibility is killing me here. So upon some research i have found a few interesting things.

I have mentioned a few times on the forum that I am relatively new to BC fishing and am still learning the ropes. I ask for advice on pinks regularly, and the common thing is pink lures...especially in murky waters is the way to go because they can see it easier.

This seems to be fundamentally false, Pink/Red, like in clear water have the worst visibility of all colours that can be used.....as little as a few inches. Blues and greens have the greatest visibility even in the murkiest of water. This is all just based on how the wavelengths of light penetrate water. Shorther wavelengths of blue/violet penetrate much deeper than longer wavelengths of red/pink.

So i suppose my quandry is......Is the pink salmon liking pink lures simply a myth? Of course, if pinks actively feed on pink coloured food sources in the ocean (squids), than pink is the go to in the ocean. It's possible this gets thrown away in murky, non-ocean waters. Would a blue lure outfish a pink lure in dirty river water simply based on visibility alone? Is vibration and disturbance the greater option......run a fly behind a small attractor that throws out vibration?

Lots to consider......I am of course going to try out a few of my theories tomorrow at the Squamish. I will report back on success later on, but would love to hear some advice or crazy opinions!!

adriaticum

• Old Timer
Re: Dirty Water Lures......Myths?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2013, 11:43:39 AM »