Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Do you remember when? Confessions of a former "snagger"...  (Read 2304 times)

Taboo

Do you remember when? Confessions of a former "snagger"...
« on: November 06, 2007, 11:02:51 PM »

I have not met Rod (yet  ;) ), but he posted earlier about the frequent "snagger" reference in recent fishing reports.  Admitedly, I have used the reference in some of my reports.  It got me thinking: was I all that different when I first hit the flow?  Was I always on the river with a halo over my head and nothing but a hook in the chops???  Sadly, no.....

So here is my story....for those who care to read on...

I am still a rookie on this site but have been fishing for around 7 years.  I use the term "fishing" loosely as my first few years I was just happy to tag into something..."anything".  This was accomplished by following the lead of those around me and that meant bottom bouncing and learning that it was neccessary to tie 400 hooks the night before in order to keep up with gear lost as a result of snags and the odd fish in anywhere but the mouth that turned tail and made off with aforementioned superbly tied hooks.  We'll call this the early years, almost exclusively on the Vedder.  Allison pools from the cliffs have about 20 pounds of hooks somewhere at the bottom of them all with my name on them!!   ;D  In my defense, I never kept fish that were not in the mouth.