- 3 (13.6%)
Self taught
- 16 (72.7%)
From a friend
- 2 (9.1%)
or still don't know
- 1 (4.5%)

Total Members Voted: 22

Author Topic: Fly Casting  (Read 6620 times)

Bone

Fly Casting
« on: January 10, 2006, 02:32:38 PM »

Hey just wondering how everybody learned how to fly cast.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: Fly Casting
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2006, 04:15:32 PM »

Taking casting lessons from a pro lessens the training curve and far less frustrating.

sliverbullet

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2006, 06:17:45 PM »

or you can go the cheaper way and self teach  ;D

mojoman

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2006, 06:47:29 AM »

self taught in the late 60's

mojo
Lou will turn things around with his game and the Canucks will make their way back to the top of their division... Canuck's have a great chance of going all the way this year... maybe you can save this post so I can say I told you so in a couple of months Smiley

newsman

• Old Timer
  • Dude what's a llama?
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2006, 04:32:38 PM »

Did them started in 1970. Got my first lessons in 73; bogus by todays standards. My next round of lesson were in 97. Then again in 98. Then the last and best round in 2000. Take it from one who has been there and done that, lessons are a great asset but only if the come from a good instructor. And that does not mean it has to be a certified instructor, my second instructor bragged allot about his certification and was about ad usfull as an instruction book. My third instructor was also certified was better and I have incorporated some of the things he taught me into my instructions. My fourth instructor was miles ahead of them all combining a proccess of explaination, demontration, and hands on, instead of just saying this is how it is watch me.
Till the next time, "keep your fly in the water!"

Matuka Jack

• It's time to fish!
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2006, 09:50:26 PM »

I learned from books and going to the water and try out what I read.