Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Fly fishing for Chum.  (Read 12158 times)

fishseeker

• Old Timer
Fly fishing for Chum.
« on: September 30, 2007, 08:30:55 PM »

I believe the Chum season is about to start soon so I have some interest in going after them.  I have heard they are supposed to be relatively easy to catch and, being completely new to Salmon fishing, I figured this is probably a good place to start.

The main problem is I am not sure I have the gear to go after them.  I have a six weight fly rod with a fast sink and floating line setup.

A guy I spoke to at a fly fishing shop assured me that this setup would be perfectly adequate for Chum.  I know I am new to this but I can't help feeling a little skeptical.  According to articles I have read on this site and others Chum are big critters easily topping 15 pounds right?  (I don't know the average size but I am guessing this must be on the high end too).  I am confident my six weight setup could handle anything up to 5 pounds but I am really not sure about anything bigger than that.

Any thoughts or opinions would be much appreciated.  Also, if a six weight setup is adequate - any thoughts on leader strength, size and color of fly etc. ?

I would like to avoid going out and buying a whole lot of new equipment but better that than coming home with my precious fly rod all smashed up  :)

kellya

• Old Timer
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Fly fishing for Chum.
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2007, 08:48:20 PM »

This pic should answer your question on using 6 wts. Note the portion of rod in my hand. Im pickin a 10wt up this week so i can handle them no prob. an 8wt would work though.

newsman

• Old Timer
  • Dude what's a llama?
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2007, 08:59:00 PM »

I would not be buying another thing from that tackle seller.