Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: vacation information and advice.  (Read 7671 times)

banx

vacation information and advice.
« on: January 10, 2013, 11:15:20 AM »

hey guys. I've been trolling this site for a few years since moving to vancouver.  It's helped me out, but I haven't had anytyhing important or relevant to post. 

however, now i do.

so I'm goin to ambergis caye in belize and renting an apartment with the wife for 10 days end of april beginning of may.......  I'm bringing my 8wt and 4wt fly rods. mine and the wifes small spin casting rods as well as my 8'6 hmx and abu 6500.

I have spoken to my host who also happens to be a guide,  he says that I will need to work on my fly casting.  Now heres the thing.  I don't REALLY fly fish.  I bring my rods out with me when i go use my gear and when the salmon stop biting I throw out a small fly and try for trout.

I can probably only cast 20 to 30 feet with fairly decent accuracy.  He says I will need to cast 70 to 80 feet if I want to  be consistently successful.

I know some of you will say well why don't you go practice.... and well I need more than intro advice. practicing doing this wrong for hours on end does not lead to progress..... I need a class.  I see several shops offer courses.  But i'm looking for a personal recommendation.  I'm not a noob per se,  but an intermediate class or something along those lines.

also has anyone here gone to belize?

I've spent a few hours researching online but it's all forums. and everyones an expert on the internet.  I have enough gear and tackle, but no flies.

would there be someone willing to tie me a bunch of flies? (at a price of course)

Gotchas, Christmas Island Special, Small crabs, Brown and also Orange cockroach patterns with some EP fibers to spice things up
Rubber legged Gotcha’s  and shrimp patterns.  apparantly those are what I will need.