Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Tips for Fly Fishing Small Rivers  (Read 7551 times)

Shmoke Shaman

Tips for Fly Fishing Small Rivers
« on: October 23, 2011, 01:45:25 PM »

I am just starting to learn how to fly fish and decided to start out at the Coquitlam River since its near to my home.
Was wondering if there are any experienced anglers who have fished in this river that might have a few tips or tricks for me?
I am not asking for you to name spots or locations, just tips or info about the river.
For example what to look for in a nice place to cast, types of flies for coho? trout? what type of fly line and what to look out for at the river.

The regulations for the river I believe its 4 trout 30cm+, Coho Oct 01- Dec 31 1 hatchery fish per day. Correct me if I am wrong.
Not that I plan on catching the quota (prob wont catch anything with my skill), but just wanted to follow regulations.

much appreciated.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 09:39:57 PM by DionJL »

Rodney

• Administrator
  • Old Timer
  • Where's my strike indicator?
    • Fishing with Rod
Re: Coquitlam River
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2011, 01:52:56 PM »

Actually, the daily quota of trout in Coquitlam River (and all other streams in Region 2, unless stated otherwise), is 2 hatchery marked trout per day.

vancook

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2011, 02:02:02 PM »

If you live by there why not visit your local tackle shop and ask the staff what they can recommend for flies etc. They would be able to help you in that respect. For example sea run fly and tackle or riverside.

DionJL

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2011, 04:06:19 PM »

Sandman

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2011, 05:10:14 PM »