Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: vacation information and advice.  (Read 7641 times)

Damien

• Old Timer
Re: vacation information and advice.
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2013, 11:52:41 PM »

Yo, Banx.  We may cross paths.

I fly into Belize City and head right to Crooked tree for two nights, then I will be on Caye Caulker on the 30th of April and 1st of May, with three more nights that I haven't booked yet.  Thinking about heading north to Ambergris, or south towards the Turneffe flats.  Not sure yet.  I will play it by ear after I spend a couple nights on Caulker.  Might even just stay there if the island proves to be as cool as it seems to be.

I have given up on even attempting the flyfishing thing.  Maybe next time.  From what I hear, you might not get a ton of opporunities to hook up, and casting accuracy, distance and speed is crucial.  I am still new to flyfishing, so dealing with the ever present wind combined with the distances needed and hitting a moving target with a weighted fly seems like a waste of time for me. 

I am going a great distance to catch flats species, I already frustrate myself enough throwing my 5wt for trout, I don't need to bring that experience with me.

I have loaded up on the appropriate jigs, shrimp and crab DOAs and GULP stuff.  I will even leverage natural baits when I am down there.  I'm not taking chances, lol.

Anyways, best of luck out there.  I will tip a Belikin for you and wish you a GRAND SLAM.

banx

« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2013, 05:40:07 PM »

thanks.  i've been getting out for practice but i also find this a losing proposition with a fly rod in my hand. hahaha

were there any speific 'gulp's' you suggest?

i have some ghost shrimp, storm chad jigs, and half dozen rappalas.  was also planning on using real bait. apparantly conch is supposed to be great.

good luck to you to.

Damien

• Old Timer